the pod people
September 15, 2003

So today is Monday and it was pretty uneventful. I went to work, and tried very, very hard not to do any work. But alas, I am a grown-up who needs money since I recently did a "grown-up" thing and purchased a home/condo so I only screwed around for about 1/4 of the day instead of my desired full 8 hours. Anyhow our work is really weird right now (I work with peteypuke in a suburb outside Chicago). There are TONS of temps all over the place and they freak me out. They are all deformed looking, weird, smelly, they take over our kitchen, our bathrooms, our small parking lot, and they don't laugh at our jokes. They are like ants over a mound of peanut butter (do ants like that?). I catch myself talking about them out loud to whomever wants to listen and then I remember there is a temp who they conveniently seated right behind me. In our office we have those prison cell cubicles (that's literally my view) that are about shoulder high. Instead of directing a conversation to someone in particular by saying a name, we sort of speak out loud hoping someone is listening and will answer back. Sometimes I repeat myself and then I say, "Anyone?........ Anyone?" Usually someone is listening but they just don't feel like playing my fun little game. We have a cheap version of "IM" in our office but I prefer this bargain basement method, which is why the temps hear me speaking of them callously. ***Side note; I started as a temp so I am NOT biased.*** Besides all this temp business, I also went to lunch with my dad and had a delicious pad thai meal. So that's all for now! By the way the temp who sits behind me is very pleasant, it's her freaky-friday creepy temp friends I can't handle.

Haven't worked with any "temps" before? Here are some "temp" movies;
Clockwatchers
The Temp

<<< *Archive* COMMENTS* GUESTBOOK* Design* Music/Links* RECIPES Host* Latest* >>> Support the Fight!