Daydream Believer
June 10, 2004

Living in Chicago is great but when you work 35 miles north of the city (toward WI) it is not so great. Yesterday I checked the traffic report just before I left and it was 133 minutes! In order for me to stay sane and not sit in a sweltering oven, since my Jeep has no air and is a hard top, I sometimes resort to the back routes. The back routes are always nice because I tend to pass the time with my daydreaming. I look at houses, offices, restaurants, stores, and dream about what my life would be like if I lived, or worked at one of these places. I seriously space out and think about all these dumb scenarios. Like, �Ohhhh that 50�s style old fashion awning on Joe Schmo's Accounting Office looks like a great place to work, I could work there�, OR �Cute! Look at that cute little storefront signage! Why don�t they make signs like that anymore? If I ever owned a dog grooming shop I would put a big giant pink poodle on my sign too.�, OR �Wow that house is so adorable and is right across from an old abandoned railroad yard, what a cool place to live. I could totally live there.� OR �Look at that plumber driving that truck, I could totally marry that plumber and live in that great house I saw a minute ago. We could have 2 kids and I can work at that accounting office!� So in li�l my daydreamin� head I have lived, worked, and owned several homes, businesses, had several careers, and have married several husbands with different careers and had several children with them. Usually when I do end up taking the highway home I just daydream about conversations I should have had with someone and what I would have said and what they would have said back and forth and so on and so on, OR I make up fake music videos to whatever song is playing on the Radio (no stereo in the Jeep either) and the video always has something to do with walking down the highway, being in traffic, in a car, or in a truck OR I say to myself "Is making a painting of the back of a Mack truck art?"

<<< *Archive* COMMENTS* GUESTBOOK* Design* Music/Links* RECIPES Host* Latest* >>> Support the Fight!